Need Immediate Assistance? Call us at 601-360-8070. | Send Flowers


Wright & Ferguson Funeral Home was established in November 1923 by Ellis W. Wright, G. Warren Ferguson and John Payne. In the beginning, the firm operated as Wright, Ferguson & Payne Funeral Home. It operated under this name for about six months, then Mr. Wright and Mr. Ferguson purchased Mr. Payne’s interest in the partnership, and it became known as Wright & Ferguson Funeral.

Actual operations began in January 1924 in a semi-remodeled residence on Amite Street, in Jackson, Mississippi, at the present address of AmSouth Plaza. The business operated from this place until the end of December 1929. In January 1930, the new mortuary, the first of its kind built originally for a funeral home in Mississippi, was opened in the present downtown Jackson location, which was then known as 601 North West Street.

In 1951, a major remodeling program was completed, which afforded an entrance on the new High Street extension, and also enlarged the total facility to provide off-street parking. In 1963, with the purchase of additional land, the North Hall, with four new visitation suites, and covered driveways, was added.

By 1973, the entire block had been purchased, and the original garage building was renovated for office space and the remaining land landscaped to provide parking facilities for about 250 vehicles. It stands as we know it today.

In 1989, the company expanded beyond its downtown location with the purchase of Greer Funeral Home in Raymond, Mississippi. Finally, in 1996, the company acquired the Stringer Funeral Home in Clinton, Mississippi.

As Jackson's oldest and most experienced funeral home, the Wright & Ferguson staff is still dedicated to providing quality service and value to Jackson area families.


Register for Obituary Notifications

114 Burney Drive | Flowood, MS 39232 | Map & Directions | 601-360-8070 | Email Us at     Like Us On Facebook

©2022 Wright & Ferguson Funeral Home | Privacy Policy | Site Created By Gemini Graphics Inc.